
Before signing a court document or getting involved with a court case, it's important to 
see an attorney to make sure you know your legal rights and responsibilities. The Self-

Help Center has information on finding an attorney. 

MOVING WITH CHILDREN WHEN 
THERE ARE COURT ORDERS ABOUT 

THE CHILDREN 

YOU CAN USE THIS PACKET IF ALL THIS IS TRUE: 

! A court order gives you and the other parent joint legal decision-
making, or a court order gives both you and the other parent 
unsupervised parenting time. 

! You and the other parent live in Arizona. 

! You want to move with the children out-of-state or more than 100 
miles in-state. 

! No court order dated within one year of the proposed move 
specifically allows or prohibits the move. 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

This packet is based on Arizona law (A.R.S. 25-408) and the Arizona Rules of Family Law 
Procedure (Rule 91(E)), which list requirements about moving with a child when both parents 
share legal decision-making and/or parenting time. 

Deadline: At least 60 days before moving, you must provide written notice of the move to the 
other parent. 

The other parent has the option to ask the court to prevent the move. 

STEP 1: FILL OUT THE LETTER: MOVING WITH YOUR CHILDREN 

STEP 2: DELIVER THE FORM TO THE OTHER PARTY 

Take the Letter to the post office. You must have it mailed “certified mail, deliver to addressee 
only, restricted delivery, return receipt requested”. 

Or, you may deliver the Letter using an appropriate service method. You can find information 
about service methods at the Self-Help Center. 



LETTER: MOVING WITH YOUR CHILDREN 

 My Name: 
 Mailing Address: 
 City, State, Zip: 

 Today’s Date: 

Other Parent’s Name: 
 Mailing Address: 
 City, State, Zip: 

To the other parent of the children listed below: 

This letter is to notify you that I plan to relocate out-of-state or more than 100 miles in-state with 
our children as follows: 

 Children’s Names: 
I plan to relocate to: 
On this date: 

 For this reason: 

The relocation will happen no sooner than 60 days from today, pursuant to A.R.S. 25-408. 

 My Signature: 
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